Sweet Box Truck: Street Treats!

Yesterday, I spotted a cute little truck parked outside of the Monell Chemical Senses Center on 35th and Market on my way back to campus from my visiting a friend at her apartment at Penn. And, if you know me, you can imagine my delight when I went closer to find out that it was SweetBox Truck, a cupcake vendor! Cupcakes are one of my favorite things to make and eat, so I was excited to finally get to experience a cupcake from a truck.

SweetBox Truck

The Experience
The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. The menu was quite limited (there were about six flavors of cupcakes to choose from), but they all sounded amazing and, how many types of cupcakes can you make from scratch in a day anyway? I wanted to go with the Vanilla 2 (a “classic madagascar bourbon vanilla cupcake topped with a sweet vanilla buttercream frosting”) but it was already sold out. Which must say something about it! I ended up getting a Red Velvet and a Dulce de Leche cupcake ($2.50 each). While she put my order into a box, two ladies came and stood in line behind me, giggling about which cupcakes they were going to get and comparing themselves to five-year-olds. And from SweetBox Truck’s Twitter, I gathered that it was a pretty popular lunchtime destination. I got my cupcakes in two minutes and when I turned around, another two people had joined the line.

The Cupcake Box

The Cupcakes
The two cupcakes were packaged in a box. First of all, I thought the box was incredibly cute. But then I opened it and looked at what was inside. The cupcakes were beautifully decorated, but not overly so that they looked completely artificial like the ones I had at Philly Cupcake a few weeks ago. The Red Velvet was probably the best I’ve ever had. And trust me, I have had a lot of experience with Red Velvet. The cake was rich, and the vanilla cream cheese icing was the perfect balance between smooth and creamy.

Red Velvet Cupcake

The Dulce de Leche was a little messy to eat, but it was so worth it. The cake was reminiscent of a yellow cake, but it was sweeter. And the icing–although I couldn’t tell what exactly it was, was the perfect complement. I’m a firm believer that the cake should be good enough to be eaten without any icing, and SweetBox Truck’s cupcakes definitely uphold that standard. The cupcakes stand perfectly on their own, but when you add the icing, a wonderful sweet marriage is formed.

Dulce de Leche Cupcake

Final Thoughts
Yes, $2.50 is kind of a lot for one cupcake. But they’re so good and as the box says, they really are made with love. So treat yourself!  And since the menu rotates, I’ll be sure to go back and try another one…and another one…

2 responses to “Sweet Box Truck: Street Treats!

Leave a Reply

