Kim’s Oriental Food: Super Fast Chinese

I had to go to TD Bank last week so on the way back to campus I stopped by Pottruck (on Walnut between 37th and 38th) again to see what other food truck offerings there were. Several of my friends had told me about Kim’s Oriental Food and they only had positive things to say, so that was what I decided on.

Kim's Oriental Food

The Experience
Penn had already started their summer break, which meant that lines for food trucks during lunch hour were much, much shorter. For many, lines were non-existent.  This was not the cast for Kim’s. There were three people waiting for their food, which is more than what I can say for the other trucks beside Pottruck. Although Kim is known for their Chinese food, I noticed that they had a good variety of Vietnamese food (one of my favorite cuisines), so I ordered the Sautéed Pork with Lemon Grass on Rice Noodles ($4.25). I ordered, paid and

The Food
The Sautéed Pork with Lemon Grass on Rice Noodles wasn’t quite as expected. I thought it would be a dry vermicelli dish but it was covered with a thick sauce with pork, onions, carrots and bean sprouts. It tasted nothing like lemon grass. However, the rice noodles as well as the pork were cooked perfectly. As a dish, it stands on its own quite well, it just didn’t really taste like how I thought it would. It wasn’t greasy either, which was something that surprised me.

Sautéed Pork with Lemon Grass on Rice Noodles

Final Thoughts
Kim’s Oriental Food Truck  is probably one of the better Chinese food trucks in the University City Area. They have more options such as Mapo Tofu and Orange Chicken. Their prices are extremely reasonable; the majority of what they offer costs between $3 and $5. Their dishes aren’t completely covered in grease and are very filling. I can’t really speak on behalf of their authenticity, but I’ve basically given up on finding genuine Chinese food from a food truck. But for Americanized Chinese food, Kim’s hits the spot. The extremely fast service is a huge plus as well!

Leave a Reply

