La Dominique Crêperie: Edible Works of Art!

There is a little cart that sits by the Hagerty Library on 33rd and Market that surprises me every time I go. I have been to La Dominique Crêperie several times before, and I am astounded by what owner Zbigniew Chojnacki can do in such a small space. Earlier this week I was rained on while studying in the library, so instead of walking back to my dorm, I decided to go outside and grab lunch for a study break.

La Dominique

The Experience
I didn’t go during the peak lunch hour. I got in line to order around 1PM, and had to wait for almost ten minutes for the people in front of me to get their crepes before I could order. The menu isn’t extremely extensive, but there is a good list of savory and sweet crepes to pick from. The majority of the options cost $5-$7. The last time I visited La Dominique he was out of the Vegetable Crepe ($6), so that is what I decided to get. The crepes are all made to order, so it was a fifteen minute wait (during which six other people showed up to order). However, that gave me time to read the reviews and articles proudly displayed on the window as well as watch the artist at work. Yes, Mr. Chojnacki is an artist–a sculptor, and you can see his artistic expertise in the crepes he creates.

The Food
I always love the crepes I get from La Dominique. The Vegetable Crepe was no exception. In fact, it just might be my favorite so far! Stuffed with creamed spinach, broccoli, green peppers, zucchini, parmesan cheese and topped with a sweet and spicy pineapple habanero sauce and roasted red peppers,  this crepe is an excellent example of Mr. Chojnacki’s dedication to the quality and quantity of his food. The crepes are really big and extremely filling. The vegetables are extremely fresh and grilled to order, and the pineapple habanero sauce added an interesting flavor that gave the crepe some extra oomph.

Vegetable Crepe

Final Thoughts
I love La Dominique. The crepes are definitely worth the $5 or $6, and they make the perfect lunch or dessert. Even though the wait is significantly longer than other trucks, it is completely worth it. Don’t go if you’re in a hurry though, and definitely try to avoid going during a rush hour. Mr. Chojnacki’s beautiful crepes deserve to be served in a nice restaurant, so I am very happy and thankful that we are able to enjoy his edible works of art right on our campus for a college-student-friendly price! Still not convinced? Check out this episode featuring La Dominique on VendrTV!

Leave a Reply

